The dog has diabetes

I have a great Jack Russel! He’s so full of life, mischief, love, intelligence, and he’s just a super little dog.

He’s been drinking more and more water though, and I’ve been noticing he looks thinner. Today his blood tests confirmed my suspicions. He has diabetes. I’m very thankful that it is something manageable and not something deadly. I’m also very thankful for my nursing experience. This isn’t going to be much different than managing a person with new diabetes and insulin. It’s just going to be different checking blood sugars on a dog who probably won’t be too happy with me pricking his ear. He would be much unhappier being stuck at the vet for a few days though to get regulated, and so would I!

Wish us luck!

2 comments

  1. Thank you! His blood sugar is still too high so I’m going to gradually increase his insulin until it gets a bit better. The biggest challenge has been getting blood out of him! I’m used to people with fingers.


Leave a Reply

